WhatsApp could soon add expiration dates to group chats, so you no longer have to deal with so much clutter in your inbox.
If you open your Whatsapp now, we expect that you will find a backlog of chats that no longer exist for group projects that have long been handed in, for coordinating events that happened years ago, and for communicating with school friends you already know. haven’t seen in ten years. Most of these you had probably long forgotten about, with the unnecessary chats cluttering up your smartphone’s storage with messages and images from chats you no longer need.
According to a leak, WhatsApp is getting a feature that lets you unclog your inbox called ‘Expiring Groups’ (via WaBetaInfo (opens in new tab)). If the feature has been added, you should find it on the group info page; by using it, you can set when you are prompted to “clean up” the group by choosing a day, a week, or a custom date. You can also remove the expiration date from the group.
Based on the leaked screenshot, each user would have to set their own expiration date for the group, and it appears WhatsApp won’t automatically delete the group. Instead, it will seemingly remind you that it may be time to leave or delete the group, but the decision is yours.
However, we recommend that you take this news with a grain of salt. WaBetaInfo has noted that the Expiring Groups feature is still in development – so not only is it apparently not ready for a full release, it will likely be some time before the feature makes its way into the WhatsApp beta. As such, there’s a chance we’ll never see the feature launch – the developers could decide to scrap it – or by the time Expiring Groups launches, it could function differently.
You don’t have to wait for this Expiring Groups feature to launch if you want to delete old WhatsApp groups. In your inbox, long-press the chat you want to delete, then tap the menu button in the corner (the three dots) that appears, then tap Leave Group. You can also archive the chat so that it is no longer in your inbox, but you can return to the chat later if you wish.
You can also send self-destructing messages if you just want the content of the chat to disappear, not the entire group chat.